Hugo awards, Spanish Novellas, and Joe the Plumber

Well said.

See, there's this thing called biology...

dark_shadows-show

I confess, to escape my pathetic life I sometimes watch Spanish soap operas. Oh, the drama, the angst…the shirtless man riding a white horse, tossing his hair in the wind?? What does he have to do with the story? Who cares, all Spanish soaps must have a shirtless man on horseback. It’s a rule. He is the reason the woman is standing on the edge of a cliff in her nightgown, gazing down mournfully at the surf crashing on the rocks…

I love people. Sometimes I love them even more when I can’t understand a word they’re saying.

My favorite soap goes all the way back to Dark Shadows, the original gothic. I love the old gothic novels, too, just about anything prior to 1960. I used to comb old bookstores looking for their yellowed pages, their outdated clothing, the woman running along the cliffs with the ruins of a…

View original post 525 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

